Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Ladies are getting more DUI charges

DUI Lawyers California Drunk Driving Attorneys - Criminal Defense Law news

The number of women convicted of DUI charges each year is on the rise. In 1975 only 8 percent of DUI cases prosecuted in the United States involved females. Last year, 160 thousand women were charged with DUI. While the real cause for this increase isn't known, there are several factors sociologists believe may be playing into the rise of female DUIs. The most obvious possible reason for the increase is simply more women are driving today than they were in 1975. Also, more women have careers today. With more women at work, comes more women at happy hour after work. And, with more women on the road and at the bar, their numbers were bound to start evening out with the men's. However, there are things women should be aware of to protect themselves from a potentially deadly and costly situation.

It's a common misconception drinking beer or wine is less intoxicating than drinking liquor. The serving size of the drink is really what is to blame. If all three types of alcohol are compared by their appropriate serving, the alcohol content would be very similar. A serving of wine is a 4-ounce glass, a serving of beer is an 8-ounce glass, and a serving of 80-proof liquor is 1.25 ounces. Anatomical differences between men and women cause alcohol to be processed differently depending on a person's gender. For example, alcohol tends to migrate to stored water in the body, and women tend to store more water. Also, body weight, amount of fat tissue, and stomach contents play a role in how much alcohol it takes to reach a certain blood alcohol concentration.

California Drunk Driving or DUI:

If you are pulled over and given a breathalyzer test, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, anything over a .08 blood alcohol concentration could mean getting a California DUI. A California DUI will lead to a hefty fine, a possible jail sentence, ignition interlock device, vehicle impound, public work service program, alcohol programs, and a lengthy license suspension.

If you choose to dispute the California drunk driving charges, you have a limited amount of time to request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles. In California, for example, if you miss the 10 day deadline to request a hearing, you are not eligible for a hearing at all. If want to dispute the suspension and schedule a hearing, it's beneficial to seek a California DUI - DMV attorney.