Tuesday, June 3, 2008

California Drunk Driving Checkpoint in Claremont Friday June 6

On Friday, June 6, 2008, the Claremont Police Department will be conducting a California DUI sobriety checkpoint at an undisclosed location in the City, according to California DUI attorneys.

The California DUI checkpoint will start at 6:00 p.m. and conclude at 2:00 a.m. Drivers will be stopped long enough to ensure they are not California DUI - under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

California DUI Officers will also ensure that drivers are wearing their seatbelts and possess valid drivers licenses. Funding for this California DUI program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, according to California DUI lawyers.

California DUI Laws, Penalties & Fines at www.SanDiegoDrunkDrivingAttorney.net/penalty :

California DUI and DMV Penalties
Criminal (Misdemeanor) Sentences for Driving Under the Influence of alcohol and/or drugs (Vehicle Code Section 23152)
OFFENSE
MINIMUM AND MAXIMUM SENTENCES WHEN PROBATION IS GRANTED
MINIMUM AND MAXIMUM SENTENCES WITHOUT PROBATION
WITH OR WITHOUT PROBATION

FIRST OFFENSE
within 10 years
Attendance at an alcohol/drug program, a fine of $390 to $1,000, plus substantial, mandatory penalty assessments (totalling up to an additional 180% apx.), plus either (A) 48 hours to 6 months jail and 6 months license suspension; or (B) a license restriction to and from work, during work and to and from DUI program following any DMV suspension (if no refusal).
96 hours to 6 months in jail, $390 to $1,000 fine, and a 6-month license suspension.
May impound vehicle for 6 months.

Up to 3 years ignition interlock device (IID), and Additional Jail if Child Passenger, if 30 mph over speed limit on freeway or if 20 mph over speed limit on other roads, if Refusal of chemical test, or if .15% BAC or more.

SECOND OFFENSE
within 10 years
Attendance at 18-30 month alcohol/drug program, a fine of $390 to $1,000 plus substantial, mandatory penalty assessments, 96 hours to 1 year in jail, installation of ignition interlock (IID) device for up to 3 years, and 2 year license suspension, with a possible license restriction to and from work, during work and to and from DUI program after 1 year of suspension and completion of DUI program. However, your license shall be suspended if the offense occurred in a vehicle which requires a class 1, 2, A or B license.
90 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1,000 fine plus substantial, mandatory penalty assessments, IID up to 3 years, and 2 year license suspension.

THIRD OFFENSE
within 10 years
120 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1,000 fine plus substantial, mandatory penalty assessments, a 3-year license revocation, and an 18-month alcohol/drug program if you have not completed one before.
120 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1,000 fine, and a 3-year license revocation.

FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE
within 10 years
120 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1,000 fine plus substantial, mandatory penalty assessments, a 4-year license revocation, and an 18-month alcohol/drug program if you have not completed one before.
16 months, or 2 or 3 years in state prison, or 180 days to 1 year in county jail; $390 to $1,000 fine, and a 4-year license revocation.



DMV Penalties for Driving Under the Influence of alcohol and/or drugs
OFFENSE
BOH/REFUSAL
SENTENCE

FIRST OFFENSE
.08 or greater
4-month suspension

" "
Refusal
1 year suspension

SECOND OFFENSE
within 10 years
.08 or greater
1 year suspension

" "
Refusal
2 year revocation

THIRD OFFENSE
within 10 years
.08 or greater
3 year revocation

" "
Refusal
3 year revocation

FOURTH OFFENSE
within 10 years
.08 or greater
4 year revocation

" "
Refusal
4 year revocation


Driving on a Suspended License Mandatory Jail Penalty

If you drive when your privilege is suspended or revoked for driving under the influence of alcohol, upon a first conviction, you face imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 10 days or more than six months and by a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000. [California Vehicle Code section 14601.2(a)]