Sunday, July 13, 2008

California DUI penalty recap

IF convicted of a DUI in California, you will likely be facing a combination of the following California DUI penalties:

A first time California DUI conviction carries a penalty of between $390 to $1000 + substantial, mandatory penalty assessments of approximately 180% or so, in fines. In addition to the fines, you will be required to pay anywhere up to $3000 in penalty assessments.

Second and subsequent California DUI convictions carry heavier fines, as do instances in which another person was injured.

California DUI law allows for the judge to sentence you to up to six months in jail for a first time offense.

If this is your first time you're being convicted of a California DUI, you may ultimately retain the right to keep a restricted version of your driver's license. Alot depends on the DMV hearing. If suspeended after completing a chemical test, you will have to pay restriction and reissue fees in order to keep the privilege of driving to and from work.

Additionally, you will be required to complete a mandatory California DUI educational program. These programs can require a time commitment of up to one year.

Other California DUI consequences include paying impoundment and storage fees for your vehicle, ignition interlock, two points added to your driving record (if you are given four points in a twelve month period your license will be revoked), and a mark on your record which will last for ten years.

Finally, your auto insurance premiums will likely increase, and you could face ramifications on the job if you had to miss work.

You understand that a California DUI conviction can cost you thousands of dollars, your license, and jail time.

In many cases, California DUI evidence introduced into court during a California DUI trial is technical in nature. And technical evidence can be challenged on valid scientific grounds. Today, the best way to fight a California DUI case is to show how the technology to determine blood alcohol content (or BAC) might be faulty. This technique allows for reasonable doubt as to whether you were actually driving above the legal California DUI limit. You may be wondering how technology might be wrong. Actually, there are many ways in which errors can occur. The job of a California DUI good attorney is to highlight the possibility of error. is more specific.