California DUI criminal defense lawyers at www.SanDiegoDrunkDrivingAttorney.net/articles and California DUI criminal defense attorneys at www.SanDiegoDrunkDrivingAttorney.net/about say if you are pulled over and accused of drunk driving in the state of California, you will need to act quickly. Your right to drive is at stake. One of the first things you need to do after your arrest is file an appeal for a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles to argue for your license. Many drivers choose to work with an attorney to ensure that they file this request properly. If you do not file this appeal within 10 days of your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended. The suspension will take effect 30 days after your DUI arrest. A first-time offender will have a 6-month license suspension. Restricted licenses are available for some individuals.
You can be arrested for DUI in California based on your blood alcohol content (BAC) or your driving pattern at the time you are pulled over. In California it is illegal to drive with a BAC of .08% or higher.
California drivers face strict consequences under the state’s current DUI laws. First time offenders may have to attend an alcohol and drug prevention program. The fines total about $2,000, depending on the details of the California DUI case. DUI offenders can spend between 48 hours and 6 months in jail. Probation is a possibility for some offenders. Ignition interlock, vehicle impound, public work service, trash detail, volunteer work and other enhancements are a possibility.
To learn more about a California DUI call 1 800 THE LAW DUI.