Q. to Director of California DUI:
I am very concerned because my best friend was cited for a California DUI - driving under the influence for the first time.
What are the ramifications for California drunk driving or driving under the influence?
A. by Director of California DMV: Financial costs for a first-time conviction vary, but could cost up to $13,000 in fines, penalty assessments and insurance costs, plus a jail sentence of up to six months, depending upon the court and circumstance.
In addition, California DUI convictions remain on the driving record for 10 years.
For a first-time conviction, the California DMV will suspend a person’s driving privilege for six months. The person convicted — in this case, your friend — must complete a California DUI program, provide evidence of insurance, and pay a $125 reissue fee before they can get their license back.
Your friend may be eligible for a restricted license issued by California DMV before the end of the six-month suspension.
Click here for California DMV's information on DUI.
George Valverde is the director of the California Department of Motor Vehicles. He asks: Do you have questions about general driving related requirements like registration or insurance? or Are you unclear about DMV's public statements of DUI laws and restrictions related to driving?
You can also submit any DMV-related questions at firstname.lastname@example.org.
California DUI defense lawyers provide DMV information as well.