Graduation parties are in full force. Be careful, though. California underage DUI laws are some of the most severe in the U.S.
Per the "Zero Tolerance Law", anyone under 21 years of age with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.01% or greater will be charged with a California DUI .
Under 21 drivers with a BAC of 0.05% or greater may also be charged with both an underage DUI and an adult DUI at the same time and be subject to arrest for a California DUI .
To reach a BAC of 0.01%, for most it means drinking:
• 1 12-ounce beer
• 1 4-ounce glass of wine
• 1 1.25-ounce of liquor
These can put a driver over 0.01%; usually closer to 0.05%. Drivers under 18 years of age that are convicted of DUI will lose their license for a year OR until their 18th birthday, whichever is greater.
Also, a judge may choose to confiscate an underage driver's vehicle. In all cases, the driver will have to pay fines of several thousand dollars, attend driving safety and alcohol/drug abuse classes, will have to prove financial responsibility.