AT $754.00, not too far behind a California DUI fine!
New California Law in 2010: If a police vehicle is pulled over to the side of the road, you have to change to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) or slow down to at least 20 mph under the posted speed limit.
One young California man received a ticket for this recently. A police car (turned out it was two police cars) was on the side of the road giving a ticket to someone else. He slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane. The second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket. He had never heard of the law. It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, if you are able, you are to move into the far lane.
The cost of the Move-Over ticket was $754, with 3 California DMV negligent operator points on your license and a mandatory court appearance.
See this law's details at this website).
Every state except Hawaii and Maryland and Washington D.C. has this law.