If charged with a California DUI and you retain a California drunk driving criminal defense lawyer, your attorney will not be able to obtain reduced sentencing below the mandatory minimums as set forth in California.
A California DUI judge has to sentence you with the penalties outlined by law if guilty.
California DUI penalties include:
A license suspension will be sought upon a DUI conviction.
For first time DUI convictions, license suspensions can last anywhere from four months up to one year.
California DUI offenders must get a SR-22 form to remove their license suspension.
For a California DUI conviction, fines can range from $2,000 to $10,000, depending on the circumstances of the case.
California DUI public work service program or community service includes removing litter from highways.
A California DUI court can order an offender to attend an alcohol education class,
California DUI courts an ignition interlock device installed on their car at their own expense by the first or second DUI conviction. The device requires the offender to test their breath in order to be able to start the car, and it often requires continued breath tests intermittently throughout a trip in case someone else was used to trick the device. The BAC limit for this device is usually 0.01-0.02%.
The amount of California jail time imposed depends many factors.
California DUI offender’s vehicle can be impounded or confiscated for a period of time.