The San Diego County DUI Law Center proudly updates motorists daily.
Today's California Highway Patrol's sharing of new laws, say San Diego
Search Warrants: Chemical Tests (SB 717, DeSaulnier): This amendment
to current law authorizes the issuance of a search warrant to draw
blood from a person in a reasonable, medically approved manner, to
show that the person violated California misdemeanor DUI provisions when that
person has refused an officer request to submit to, or has failed to
complete, a blood test.
Hit and Run: Statute of Limitations (AB 184, Gatto): This law extends
the statute of limitations for hit-and-run & DUI/hit and run collisions in which death
or permanent, serious injury was a result. A criminal complaint may be
filed within three years of the offense, or one year after the person
was initially identified by law enforcement as a suspect in the
commission of the offense, which ever comes later, but in no case more
than six years after the offense.
Teen Drivers (SB 194, Galgiani): This law prohibits a person who is
under 18 years of age from using an electronic wireless communications
device to write, send, or read a text-based communication while
driving, even if it is equipped with a hands-free device, regardless of
California DUI or not.
Registration Fees: Vehicle Theft (AB 767, Levine): This law authorizes
counties to increase registration fees by $1 for passenger vehicles
and $2 for commercial vehicles to fund programs related to vehicle
theft crimes in those counties.